Battlefield Vietnam: “Hello, are you still there?”

As I previously mentioned in my Battlefield 1942 post, my 1942 career was largely overshadowed by Battlefield Vietnam when I first started playing Battlefield.

In 2014 EA and DICE stopped supporting Battlefield 1942, Battlefield Vietnam, Battlefield 2 and Battlefield 2142. – All the classic Battlefields – the games that actually got me into this franchise in the first place,  the games are strictly being supported by the community now.

I have played around 1000 hours of Battlefield Vietnam.

Prologue
The year was (around) 2005. By this time my mother had just moved from my alcoholic father – she now called me the “man” of the household – there’s literally no other men in my family except for me and my father. I had basically lost all my childhood friends, but I insisted that I wanted to go to the same public school.

At the time I went to 4th grade, I was about to start in 5th grade when my mother forced me to change schools. Not only that, I started in 4th grade again, because my mother felt as if I had started too early in school at the age of 5.

In my head, only “bad” kids changed schools, even worse would drop down a class, I considered myself a failure. I knew nobody in my new neighbourhood, I knew nobody at my new school – but I instantly fell in love with a girl I met at that school who hates me to this day by the way! (I think she may have saved my life, fuck her)

The new school dragged me to a psychologist, because I had trouble getting friends – it took me literally 3 years before anyone wanted to talk to me – once they did we actually had a pretty good time (Did I mention I set fire to a tree once?) untill they discovered I wasn’t interested in alcohol nor smoking.

“My grandfather was stabbed and killed in 1975”

My grandfather was stabbed and killed in 1975, when he was 35 years old, trying to save another persons life (But let’s talk more about that if I ever write about Battlefield Hardline) I always thought I would die young too.

We now lived in a small 1 room apartment with a small kitchen and a small livingroom my mother had to sleep in, meanwhile my father lived in an apartment with 2 big rooms and 2 big livingrooms all by himself.

We would move again, twice. One time into a 2 room apartment(on the same street) then into my current apartment which has 2 floors, 3 rooms a livingroom and a garden.

I turned to gaming.

→ Read also:
Battlefield 1942: 15 years past

It was in Battlefield Vietnam I had my first experience with any clan – I was part of a clan which simply recruited everyone – no memberslist, no website, no nothing – you could literally just put the tags on and you were a member. The clan was called MpDm. Once I thought I was talking to another MpDm member, but it turned out to be his sister – I told her to prove it – and ooohh boyy she did, turns out I was a bit of ladies man all the way back then in 2005. I talked to her for a long time, but we never actually got to meet and eventually our relationship died out and came to an end.

It was also through Vietnam that I would learn of a program called Xfire[link]
sort of similar to Steam, it included a bunch of the same features – in-game overlays, the ability to take screenshots, videos and even broadcast (in a shit resolution)
The greatest thing about Xfire though, was the fact that it didn’t have a friendlist limit – I kept all my old inactive friends untill the very end – that’s to say when Xfire turned into a shitty tournament platform nobody needed back in 2015. I had used it since 2007. Xfire kept track of my playing hours and at the time Battlefield Vietnam was around 1000 hours.

In 2012 some guy (I forgot his name) from some new clan called «ßÔß» added me on Xfire, not knowing that I had not played Vietnam since at least 2008 – he wanted me to join his clan.

I can understand why some people considered Vietnam a modification, but back then I honestly couldn’t see it.

Battlefield Vietnam (released 2004)
Vietnam introduced an entirely new 3rd team to the mix known as “Spectators” – this new feature I actually used quite a bit. Sometimes I found it more entertaining to watch other people play rather than do it myself – you could actually learn quite a bit from it – it was almost like I had discovered livestreaming before livestreaming became something that I knew of.

Battlefield Vietnam 35 diffrent vehicular devices in total – Including the Cobra helicopter, which was my favorite, at the time of playing of course. I doubt I would actually be able to fly anymore. Battlefield 1942: Secret Weapons of WWII also included a helicopter and I would say upon playing with that, that the controls in Battlefield Vietnam were greatly improved compared to Battlefield 1942.

Battlefield Vietnam introduced the ability to airlift tanks and boats – something we had a lot of shenanigans with back in the day – in some maps it did feel kind of like an useless annoyance though.

Battlefield Vietnam has 18 maps in total.

Battlefield Vietnam introduced me to 60s and 70s music when I was about 10 years old, I remember my father would always be extremely puzzled by the fact that I was listening to 70s music – and then in turn try to teach me even more about the music. The radio was perhaps the greatest feature of the game in my opinion, as it made it so much more enjoyable – unfortunately it was also slightly buggy and I dont think it ever really got fixed properly.

I have unfortunately only seen 20 players online at most.

As of right now there’s only 16 active Battlefield Vietnam servers on GameTracker, that doesn’t mean the game is dead – it just means not a lot of players registered on GameTracker, there could potentially be a lot of servers left. (I want to be optimistic, but I doubt it to be honest)

In Battlefield Vietnam there’s 4 diffrent classes, Assault, Engineer, Heavy Assault and Scout, as opposed to the 5 of Battlefield 1942, the class system was also changed to diffrent weapons for each class and diversified kits for each map.

No expansion packs were ever created for Vietnam.

Competition
I have never heard of any organized competition in Battlefield Vietnam, however I do remember a couple of clans and they did play clan wars occasionally against each other obviously -[XXX]- »[XxX]» (I never really understood if they were 2 diffrent clans or part of the same – I believe they were ran by Moose and Boomer) [HOT] and [Sexy] were some of the big ones back in the day, not to forget -[HELLO]-[link] which now seems to be about the only clan left in the game. There is a clan wars page located on their website – but I have no idea how old/young it is.

I remember a clan called Brutal Task Force – «[ßTF]» or something along those lines who randomly joined a server I was on and started raping everyone to the point of the entire server called hackers and ragequit. Good old times man.

Modding
There was never really any great modding scene in Battlefield Vietnam – ironically enough though – I do remember a mod called “DICE City” which was literally SWAT against criminals. As most of us know Battlefield Hardline was developed by Visceral Games, the developers behind Dead Space, it would have been such a good opportunity for a sequel to Battlefield 2142.

Battlefield Vietnam included a mod developed by DICE, where the following maps from BF1942 could be found: Wake Island, the Phillipines as well as Iwo Jima – with improved graphics of course.

Point of Existence was one of the few mods in Vietnam which actually became extremely popular – eventually though it would move on to Battlefield 2.

Battlefield Vietnam is not dead yet, please go play it before it’s too late.
I will leave this with a quote I saw on -[HELLO]- forum:

“Alla vill till himmelen, men ingen vill dö”
(Everyone wants to go to heaven, but nobody wants to die)

Leave a Reply

